Begin Main Content Area

Registration

Pennsylvania law requires offenders who committed sexually violent offenses after December 20, 2012, and were later convicted of these offenses, to register for a period of 15 years (Tier 1), 25 years (Tier 2) or life (Tier 3) based on their crime of conviction. Please see the SOAB home website page for a list of all sexually violent offenses and their corresponding tiers.

Access to the Registry

Pennsylvania’s Sex Offender Registry is maintained by the PSP. Pennsylvania’s statute is very specific about what information may be released to the public. Currently, all information legally permitted for release is posted on the PSP Megan’s Law website.

The following information on registered Sexually Violent Predators (SVPs) is available on the website:
• Name and any aliases;
• Year of birth;
• The street address, city, county, and zip code of all residences;
• The street address, city, county, and zip code of any institution or location at which the offender is enrolled as a student;
• The city, county, and zip code of any employment location;
• A photograph of the offender, which shall be updated not less than annually;
• A description of the offense, which triggered registration; and
• The date of conviction, if available.

The following information on registered sex offenders is available on the website:
 
• Name and any aliases;
• Year of birth;
• The city, county, and zip code of all residences*;
• The city, county, and zip code of any institution or location at which the offender is enrolled as a student*;
• The city, county, and zip code of any employment location*;
• A photograph of the offender, which shall be updated not less than annually;
• A description of the offense, which triggered registration; and
• The date of conviction, if available.
 
*Note: State law prohibits the release of street addresses for sex offenders.